Ask Mason #2, or What is Love?

Readers often ask me questions of both a personal and spiritual nature, so that from time to time, I feel compelled to address them in this format. One that recurs, in one form or another, is “You really love Lizzie, don’t you?”  That, dear reader, is a loaded question – one fraught with many ramifications and consequences.

Much like Professor Henry Higgins, in Lerner and Loewe’s My Fair Lady, as he sings about Eliza Doolittle, I can say of Lizzie “I’ve grown accustomed to her face.” Hmmm, I just realized the strong connection between Eliza and Lizzie. How did I not note that before? I digress. Lizzie has become a part of my daily scenery, and more accurately, quoting the lyrics from said song,

“I’ve grown accustomed to her face.
She almost makes the day begin.”

The question still remains, “Do you really love Lizzie?” and to that I must honestly answer that I don’t know.  How is it possible to love such a non-entity of a pug? She contributes nothing to my day. She fusses needlessly over me when I’m ill. She stares at me with these pathetic mooneyes. She always waits for me to have the first treat. She is incapable of having an intelligent conversation and she simpers like an empty-headed twit. She protects me from any imagined danger on the street. She knows I’m not interested in cuddling but sometimes ignores that caveat and curls up close to me anyway if she “senses” I might need her little body near me. She is cloying and annoying. She has lost more teeth than she currently has, and her body resembles a cross between a hedgehog and a woodchuck. So how could I possibly love this foolish pug?

Think of me as a pug Rex Harrison and sing these words:

Damn! Damn! Damn! Damn!
I’ve grown accustomed to her face.
She almost makes the day begin.
I’ve grown accustomed to the tune that
She whistles night and noon.
Her smiles, her frowns,
Her ups, her downs
Are second nature to me now;
Like breathing out and breathing in.
I was serenely independent and content before we met;
Surely I could always be that way again-
And yet
I’ve grown accustomed to her look;
Accustomed to her voice;
Accustomed to her face.

What is love anyway? I’m sure I haven’t a clue so I leave that answer to you, dear reader.

Respectfully submitted,

Mason

I offer this photo of Lizzie as evidence.

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Ask Mason #2, or What is Love?

  1. mary

    Oh Mason, I don’t know if you have ever seen the movie fiddler on the roof, but this so reminded me of a particular scene….song called ‘do you love me’

  2. Yes, I am familiar and yes, you are correct.

  3. Roxy, Blue and Bono

    Hi Mason,

    We really enjoyed your post today! :-)

    Your Pug Fans,
    Roxy, Blue and Bono

    P.S. We love you too Lizzie!

  4. Lexie, Chloe & Coco's Mommy

    How could you NOT love that face? Lizzie is very pretty (even for a hedgehog or a woodchuck, LOL!)You make the perfect Professor Higgins, Mason! Such a perfect analogy to the obviously complicated relationship you and Lizzie share.
    Oh, and feel free to “sing” to us anytime…you have a lovely, manly-pug voice! ;-)

    • You ask how could I not love that face and I feel compelled to answer, “Easy,” but I will take the high road and say that beauty is in the eye of the beholder…

  5. sue

    Mason how could you not love lizzie she has such a beautiful face and it sounds like she is always looking out for you come on admit it you love her she is part of your family take care sue and the furry gang

  6. Rosie and Mikey's Mom

    oh dear mason…i’m thinking that deep down, you do have love for the lizard, as much as you will never admit to it. isn’t it nice to know that as annoying as she might be at times, there is always somebody that has your back and can snuggle up to if needed?
    pug hugs to both of you,
    carol, rosie and mikey

Leave a Reply

