For a Pug, Enough is Never Enough, or Take it to The Limit One More Time

How many of you pug owners/managers/companions have made a startling discovery about your pug, regarding his/her seemingly infinite capacity for the consumption of food? We are, by our very nature, voracious and compulsive eaters of anything that resembles food or food byproducts. I know that many of you, and you know to whom I speak, would like to believe that your  adorable little puggly wuggly will know when to apply the proverbial food brakes to an eating frenzy. I am here to dispel that notion forever! FACT: We will eat until we explode. This is true, dear reader.

 Which brings me to the difficult piece of this warning, difficult because it goes against all that I hold near and dear to myself. I feel as if I am betraying my breed by issuing this warning, but “Cutums Sweetums” needs Mom or Dad (or both) to be the voice of reason when it comes to meting out food and treats. And be prepared because your little bugged-eyed angel will fix you with the most intense, pleading, laser-like stare, after devouring an entire bag of baby carrots.  You will be tempted to say to yourself “just one more won’t hurt.” That one more can be the straw that breaks the pug’s back!

 We are so endearing, so convincing, and so relentless in our pursuit of even a crumb of food, that you parents must remain strong in the face of our puggy wiles. I  personally have witnessed a trained medical professional fold like a two-dollar suitcase, just from feeding me a liver treat after a particularly invasive medical procedure. This veterinarian then got down on the floor and tossed one treat after another down my gaping maw, saying how much fun it was watching me catch treats midair.(I have to give Grandma credit for teaching me this highly effective trick.)

 So yes, we are adorable and we know how much you love us…just don’t love us to death. You must offer us tough love, but understand we will not thank you.

 

Respectfully submitted,

Mason

 

Not a particularly interesting shot, but you can see I am eating from the proper feeding station.

Not a particularly interesting shot, but you can see I am eating from a proper feeding station.

Here is Lizzard tucking into her chow. Note too her feeding station is correctly elevated.

Here is Lizzard tucking into her chow. Note too her feeding station is correctly elevated.

 


Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

