The Case of the Purloined Pug

Apologies to Edgar Allan Poe for the adaptation of his famous title, but it is so fitting for today’s revelation. I know that many of you fear I have too jaundiced a view of life, and more specifically, of love. In order to dispel that notion, dear reader, I have decided to reveal the most intimate and guarded emotional experience of my life.

If you recall, I made reference in my earliest writing to my mom being the alpha and omega, next to food, of my life. For most of you, this probably went flying past your cognitive processing center, and so I am refreshing your memory. It is important to the context of what I am about to reveal: that pugs do feel love —  intensely and passionately. There, I’ve said it and I’m not ashamed! I haven’t felt that emotion for another pug (as you humans tend to fantasize) but I surely did the first time I laid eyes on my mom.

I mentioned that she is a knockout, but that had nothing to do with the kismet like quality of our introduction. When she came to meet me at the breeder’s, our initial contact was cataclysmic…the earth literally moved for me. The electrical connection between us was instantaneous, and nothing could have kept me from bounding into her outstretched arms. Yes, she stole my heart and my soul, dear reader.

For those of you who doubt that such depth of emotion can exist for a pug, well then, just look deeply into your own pug’s eyes and see what he or she is trying to tell you every day.What my mom and I share “let no man tear asunder.” Happy Valentine’s Day, Mom. You had me at “Hello, Mason.”

 

Respectfully submitted,

 

Mason

 

While this isn't a great shot of yours truly, it does show a romantic wedding and my loving devotion to the bride.

While this isn't a great shot of yours truly, it does show a romantic wedding and my loving devotion to the bride.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

