Parting Is Such Sweet Sorrow, or A Pug on the Cusp

I apologize for the lapse in my writing, but Grandma seems to be traveling a lot more than I anticipated when I began this literary adventure. Without her, I have no voice. She is back, however, and ready to process my words again.

 This is a strange time of year for yours truly; I am on the cusp of leaving one life for another. I leave behind Winter Mason and assume the mantle of Summer Mason. I love both Masons but there is always a price to be paid for the exchange. I am somewhat embarrassed to admit that I have been quite needy lately, and not in the “I want food or a treat right now” kind of way, but rather in the “I want my mom right now” kind of way.

It has taken us both by surprise because I am by nature a dude kind of guy- independent, and a bit removed from the cuddly snuggly sort of pug. Lately, though, I have felt the need to be held in my mom’s arms while she sits on the couch, to nestle close to her in bed, and be in the bathroom with her while she showers. I can attribute this aberrational behavior only to my impending departure for the Cape. Of course oblivious Lizzie has no idea that our departure is imminent; she probably has no sense of seasonal change either. All she cares about is being cuddled and cosseted. Sometimes I think I am a saint for tolerating her insipid behavior and lack of intellect!

 At any rate, dear reader, I know that next week we move our pug world from a one-bedroom apartment in Manhattan to a five-bedroom home on Cape Cod. I understand we have some speaking engagements and appearances in conjunction with our book while we are there, but mostly we will live our lives as free-ranging pugs who go shellfishing, boating, to baseball games, eat al fresco, and loll about, chewing marrow bones in a huge back yard. Not too shabby, right?

I’ll miss my mom and dad though.

 

 Respectfully submitted,

 

Mason

 

I know this is an oldie from my very first blog, but it helps get me ready for summer on the Cape.

I know this is an oldie from my very first blog, but seeing it helps get me ready for summer on the Cape.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Parting Is Such Sweet Sorrow, or A Pug on the Cusp

  1. Roxy, Blue and Bono

    Can we go too?…Love your book by the way! Love how your UPS guy makes special trips just to see you two…shhh…don’t tell his boss right! 😉 Tell him we say hi too!

    Your fans,
    Roxy, Blue and Bono

  2. Erin

    Have a glorious summer, Mason! You must have wonderful parents to be able to part with you and Lizzie for 3 whole months. I don’t think I could be that unselfish. It’s hard for me to be away from my girls for 3 hours, let alone months! They must miss you as much as you miss them. You’re lucky to have such loving grandparents too. A pug can’t be too loved or spoiled, right? I think it’s impossible!

Leave a Reply

