Who Knew The Old Girl Had It In Her

Just when you think you know all there is to know about a certain creature, you discover there are facets you’ve missed. I refer, in this case, to the much-maligned Lizzie (maligned by yours truly). I must admit that after the event I am about to describe, I have a new found respect for this seemingly innocuous little pug bitch.

 We were returning from our walk Friday afternoon and had just made the turn onto Clinton Street when a woman coming toward us called out, “Your little dog has a chicken bone in its mouth!” Mom looked down and saw her angelic Lizzie, proudly trotting along with a Buffalo chicken wing clamped tightly in her jaw. Mom immediately shouted, “Lizzie!” And in true Lizzard fashion, she opened her little mouth and dropped the bone on the sidewalk.

While I applaud her cunning and deceitful acquisition technique, I disown her drop and release action. I would never, ever give up a tasty treat without a battle of epic proportion. Had she stayed the course, Lizzie would have earned my grudging respect.

 I am, however, becoming increasingly aware of her growing prowess and I am reminded that perhaps the student will surpass her master. She has definite potential if she can learn to develop some backbone and not cave at the first harsh sounding tone of voice.

 Ah, little Lizzie, you have a long way to travel but with patience and my tutelage there is hope.

 Respectfully submitted,

 

This photo says it all...she is weak, I am strong. A submissive pug has no future.

This photo says it all...she is weak, I am strong. A submissive pug has no future.

Mason

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Who Knew The Old Girl Had It In Her

  1. Whoa Lizzie… you should have shared!!!

  2. Mason, Mason, Mason…. Feeling a bit pugnacious, are we?

Leave a Reply

