If You’re Fond of Sand Dunes and Salty Air

Ah, Paradise found! Here I am back in the bosom of culinary abundance. Grandma greeted us with incredible peanut butter cookies and liver treats from a wonderful dog bakery, mydogcatering.com, and the best bully sticks (see Jan.19th, “For Pug’s Sake, Grandma, Hurry Back” blog) ever from bestbullysticks.com. These companies heard my plea for more treats and then followed through in the most generous of ways. I wish I could thank these people personally but they know the depth of my gratitude. And so, dear reader, don’t hesitate if you feel so moved in this same direction.

The trip itself was uneventful. Mom, despite her growing anxiety about the drive, was magnificent. She found her driving legs again and I feel confident there will be more road trips with her at the wheel in our future.

Redolent with all of the scents I last described, the Cape instantly transported me to that magical place of memory as I trotted about the back yard. There were long forgotten marrowbones and reminders of recent dog visitors. Intoxicating for a pug!

I found it hard to relax and let down my vigilance, but Lizzie, of course, immediately reverted to form and curled up on the couch with Mom for a nap. I, however, knew that Grandma keeps a never-ending supply of goodies, and a clever pug knows how to play the “I’ve just arrived, I’m confused, and a little unsettled” card in order to parlay a tiny treat.

Two Scottie dogs came for a visit in the afternoon and the male promptly “went” for me in a vicious domineering way. I  am a very peaceful, tolerant pug until a dog (of any breed) tries to mount me (I wish I could be more subtle, dear reader). This act is unacceptable and I will defend myself to the death,if necessary. I had no idea those little dogs had teeth like a barracuda! I think I deported myself well and retained my dignity in the face of such rude behavior.

 All in all, it was a splendid beginning to our summer.

Respectfully submitted,

Mason

Look at Lizzie working on her delicious bully stick. I don't know why she chews with her butt in the air.

Look at Lizzie working on her delicious bully stick. I don't know why she chews with her butt in the air.

 

Grandma is doling out the iced cookies. I'm the one sitting nicely.

Grandma is doling out the iced cookies. I'm the one sitting nicely.

 

You can see the pug/Scottie interaction here. This is before it became ugly.

You can see the pug/Scottie interaction here. This is before it became ugly.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “If You’re Fond of Sand Dunes and Salty Air

  1. Oh Mason, I can’t wait to hear of your adventures at Cape Cod… I can’t believe that Scottie… The nerve!

Leave a Reply

