Cat Tales, or A Pug Faces A Kitten With a Whip

Now some of you readers may remember an early blog of mine (January, “Old Pug’s Book of Practical Cats”), and if you don’t I would suggest you revisit it, where I wrote about Grandma’s new kitten, Zoe. As you may recall, I was concerned about her presence and worried that she would upset the natural order in the house. Meeting her on arrival, I wasn’t impressed. She is pretty enough, if you like a silver tabby with piercing green eyes, and a lithe, long body. I am not particularly drawn to felines but realize that I must endure them while living at Grandma and Grandpa’s house.

It was with some degree of trepidation and wariness that I observed this cat. She appeared innocuous and kept herself hidden initially, but the other day I took the full measure of this little minx. Like the famous Mehitibel of Don Marquis’ Archy and Mehitibel series, this upstart thinks she is Cleopatra!

Grandma was slicing up a chicken breast for her lunch, and Lizzie and I assumed the position, i.e. sitting side by side, at her feet, on the kitchen floor.I quickly assessed that with my cat-like skills I would be the likely victor of the scrap toss…until I realized that there was a third creature in the lineup! There was Miss Zoe, confident and composed, sitting beside Lizzie and me, waiting for her lion’s share of the chicken. This was outrageous and unbelievable! It threw off my focus and game. My entire raison d’etre was lost, destroyed, and kaput – all because of one rescued feral feline!

I have been forced to reevaluate my technique and look closely at my next plan of food acquisition. Clearly the game has changed and I must change too. She is a worthy opponent, unlike Lizzie, with youth and high energy on her side. I, however, have wisdom, cunning, and motivation. Today, I begin mapping new strategies, dear reader. I am still in this game to win.

 Respectfully submitted,

 Mason

 

Look at this cunning little creature. She is even more alert than I!

Look at this cunning little creature. She is even more alert than I!

 

Look at the vacant expression on Lizzie's face and look at how yours truly is deep in thought...planning my next move.

Look at the vacant expression on Lizzie's face and look at how yours truly is deep in thought...planning my next move.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Cat Tales, or A Pug Faces A Kitten With a Whip

  1. Roxy, Blue and Bono

    …she does look like real trouble Mason 😉

    Your pug fans,
    Roxy, Blue and Bono

  2. Perhaps you will have to try to distract her? Something like…”oh, there’s a mouse?” Good luck as a Pug really needs to keep up with treats!

Leave a Reply

