Karma’s A Bitch…Named Lizzie, or Marrowbone Madness

You know the old saying, “what goes around, comes around?” Well, in my case it truly did. It would appear that I am an excellent teacher, because little Lizzie has mastered the art of aggressive behavior.

 Grandma gave us each a marrowbone, which is one of the true delicacies for a carnivore, and we each repaired to our respective dining stations in the back yard. Lizzie prefers the deck for this treat, while I prefer the grass or the wooded part of the yard. This seemed an innocent enough activity for both of us and yet it took a decidedly nasty turn.

 I tend to move quickly over these bones, sucking what marrow I can initially, removing any meat or fat that still remains, and then burying the bone safely in the woods for a future retrieval. After burial, I  sauntered up to the deck to check on Lizzie’s progress when she viciously turned on me, growling like a fiend from Hell! I was so shocked and dumbfounded that I froze momentarily. I looked at her with both awe and confusion. How could this be? Another case of my tutelage creating a monster! She had turned on her master. I could only shake my head and back away from this beast. Grandma kept saying, “Lizzie! Was that really you?” I think Grandma was as amazed as I by our little girl’s outburst.

 Do I believe Lizzie intended me harm? No, but she certainly employed my tried and true technique for warding off bone invaders, so I will not put her to the test in order to satisfy my curiosity. It almost brings tears to my eyes, watching her growing prowess and strength. She is becoming a force to reckon with and I am the proud professor.

 Respectfully submitted,

 Mason

 

Here I am in the initial phase of marrow retrieval

Here I am in the initial phase of marrow retrieval

Deeper licking and chewing

Deeper licking and chewing

Off to the woods for burial

Off to the woods for burial

 

Here is Miss Lizzie, threatening me as she stands guard over her bone.

Here is Miss Lizzie, threatening me as she stands guard over her bone.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Karma’s A Bitch…Named Lizzie, or Marrowbone Madness

  1. I feel with ya, pal! My own little follower, MissyLu, did something similar this weekend, but it was 13 year old BJ that she attacked over a perceived threat (entirely unfounded) to a large MilkBone biscuit. Even worse, she blatantly marked her “territory” for said biscuit by peeing on the floor right in front of Mom!! I was shocked and appalled! Of course, that’s where it all ended. MissyLu knew she’d crossed a line and sought shelter between Dad’s legs, but she lost the biscuit and won a scathing scolding. I smirked.

  2. great pictures! protection of one’s marrow bone is an essential skill for every pug…

Leave a Reply

