Dining Al Fresco With Grandpa, or Pugs On The Half Shell

Tuesday was a glorious day for yours truly…fair weather and a gentle breeze wafting the scent of herbs from Grandma’s herb garden in my direction. Grandma had gone to the beach and we were at home with Grandpa. As lunchtime approached, Grandpa informed us that he had a special treat to share with us. Of course my thoughts naturally turned to the food kind of treat and not to the spiritual variety. When I saw Grandpa start boiling water, my hopes were confirmed and I quickly assumed the waiting position.

 For a pug living on Cape Cod in the summer, one of the greatest treats is eating clams, whether they are quahogs, cherrystones, or steamers. Even if they’ve been emptied of their meat, we love just sucking on the shells. On this occasion, Grandpa served up steamers. Those of you unfamiliar with them, they are the particularly unattractive bivalve whose “foot” projects through its two shells. I don’t really know why it is called a foot since it resembles no foot I’ve ever seen. Quite frankly, if I weren’t such a lover of all things edible, there is no way I’d ever touch that disgusting looking appendage! But, since I am a dog, I have no such aversion.

 Grandpa, with the greatest generosity, fed us those delicious, delectable delicacies. Oh what bliss, what joy! We dined as no pugs could even imagine. Sated, we then succumbed to the warmth of the sun and napped on our deck. My mom was horrified when she learned what treasures we’d been fed, shouting, “How could you feed those two the best part of the steamer?”

 I have the answer, Mom: “Because Grandpa loves us more than steamers.”

 

Respectfully submitted,

 Mason 

 

I realize you wanted to see us eating the steamers, but Grandpa was eating too. I'm showing my first photo since it shows Lizzie and me on "the half shell."

I realize you wanted to see us eating the steamers, but Grandpa was eating too. I'm showing my first photo since it shows Lizzie and me on "the half shell."

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Dining Al Fresco With Grandpa, or Pugs On The Half Shell

  1. Roxy, Blue and Bono

    LOL! Yum, yum, yum!

    Your Pug fans,
    Roxy, Blue and Bono

Leave a Reply

