To Pee or Not To Pee

I don’t really know how to broach this topic in a delicate manner (and you know, dear reader, I am not a pug of delicacy), but I wonder if this particular temporary affliction has struck any of your pugs. I refer to the occasional “plumbing paralysis” (my phrase). Typically this occurs without any warning and for no ostensible reason. Grandma or Grandpa leads Lizzie and me out into the back yard, where we are to perform our morning duties. The only problem is I am unable to perform and no matter how much admonishment and encouragement they offer, the result is the same.

 I can see the disappointment in their faces and hear the frustration in their voices. The air is literally humming with tension. I know they are anxious to return to their coffee and papers, while I am frantic to eat my breakfast. Neither of these wishes can be fulfilled until I am able to do the most basic of bodily functions.

 After repeated circles of the property, I shoot Grandma or Grandpa my most pitiful/pleading expression with eyes as dewy as a baby fawn’s…to no avail. The look is lost on them and I hear them mutter, “You’ll have to take him for a walk. He can’t eat until he _______s  or _______s, whichever of the two functions I haven’t performed yet. I must say, though, that there is some wiggle room if I have done the first but not the second. They always assume that eating will encourage the second function.

 So, off we go, and lo and behold, I am back in business. Whoopee! Happy day! There is a spring in my step and lightness in my air as we head back to the house. I know another day is under way and breakfast will be waiting for me. I can’t explain the reluctance of my bladder some mornings. It is just one of those pug mysteries, I guess.

 Respectfully submitted,

 Mason 

 

Now you didn't think I would show you a photo of my struggles, did you? Here Mom is cradling me before she left. Color me happy.

Now you didn't think I would show you a photo of my struggles, did you? Here Mom is cradling me before she left. Color me happy.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “To Pee or Not To Pee

  1. Roxy, Blue and Bono

    LOL!!! It happens!

    Your Pug Fans,
    Roxy, Blue and Bono

Leave a Reply

