Don’t Give Up The Ship!

I must go down to the sea again, to the lonely sea and the sky; and all I ask is a tall ship and a star to steer her by. John Masefield

Ah, yes, dear reader, I now wax poetic as I think of that day on the sea with Grandma, Grandpa, and Lizzie. Saturday was such a dazzling day that it seemed to be a trick or an illusion. We kept watching the sky closely, sure that the ubiquitous rain clouds would appear and we’d have to retreat back into our dripping house. But no, the sun shone on and so we packed up for the boat and headed down to the marina. I wasn’t sure we were included until we unloaded our gear at the marina. Usually it was deemed too hot for us to be out in the sun for the day. The air, though, was cool, dry, and breezy and we were keen for the outing!

The ride out to our island is the best part of the journey for me. I sit in Grandpa’s lap and steer the boat, with the wind blowing my ears in a charming, jaunty manner. I am, for that time, the captain of the vessel, but for some unexplained reason, the rules changed and I wasn’t notified. Without any warning, I saw Grandpa hoist that loser Lizzie onto his lap, giving her my seat and power! I was absolutely gobsmacked (to borrow from the Brits)!

I looked back and forth, from Grandma to Grandpa, knowing it was just a cruel mistake and that they would recognize their error immediately. Instead, Grandma just scooped me up into her arms, saying cheerfully, “Well, now, isn’t this fun, Mason Man? Getting to ride with Grandma today?” I couldn’t tell her how angry, hurt, and offended I was, but she is a pretty shrewd old woman and I think she got the message.

The return trip was much different. Grandpa gave the signal as we left the island and began our return journey. Up I went into his lap, and took the wheel. I don’t like to boast but I do cut quite a figure when I am piloting the boat. Our return was uneventful but it did help ease the smarting wounds inflicted on the outbound trip. All in all it was a wonderful day and I think Lizzie and I are quite seaworthy pugs.

Respectfully submitted,

Mason

Look at goofy Lizzie in the captain's seat. She has no idea what she is doing

Look at goofy Lizzie in the captain's seat. She has no idea what she is doing.

This is what a captain looks like, sitting at the helm. I was born for this.

This is what a captain looks like, sitting at the helm....serious and sober. I was born for this.

A closer look at yours truly. I probably should have made Lizzie walk the plank that day!

A closer look at yours truly. I probably should have made Lizzie walk the plank that day!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Don’t Give Up The Ship!

  1. Poor Lizzie- so put upon by Mason. She looks sublimely happy if you ask me!

  2. You are a true Captain Mason… Born to sail…

  3. Roxy, Blue and Bono

    “gobsmacked”…good one!

    Your Pug Fans,
    Roxy, Blue and Bono

Leave a Reply

