Don’t Rain On My Parade

I must open with a passage from King Lear, dear reader, since a deluge from which there seems no relief engulfs my days…

Contending with the fretful elements;

Bids the wind blow the earth into the sea,


Or swell the curled waters ‘bove the main,


That things might change or cease.”
- William Shakespeare, King Lear, 3.1.4


Perhaps this is being a shade too dramatic, but I find Shakespeare a great comfort for any of the maladies plaguing living creatures. Being locked in by a month of tempestuous, gloomy, and wet weather on Cape Cod is not what I signed on for. This is supposed to be the summer of Mason! I had so many plans, places to go, and people to see, and yet each day I am faced with cool winds and rain as I crawl out of my pug nest and go out to perform my morning toilet. It is discouraging to me and if it weren’t for the tasty breakfast that follows I am sure I wouldn’t bother with observing the niceties!

My grandparents try to compensate by taking us on car trips and errands, but it is not the same as having a nice chew on some bone or bully stick in the yard on a sunny day. Forgive me for sounding like a Willy Whiner, but I feel as if I am losing precious hours to a never-ending nap orgy.

I think there may be relief coming tomorrow, and if not, then certainly by the weekend. I’ve lost my mojo and seem to be living under a curse from which there is no escape. I do try to remain cheerful and alert, but I find the desire to nap almost overwhelming.

If you are living under a fair sky with a warm sun shining and a balmy breeze blowing, then be grateful and think of me…a handsome pug that is fast becoming a dull mushroom. The only bright spot right now is my new web site: www.summerpugs.com, where you can purchase an autographed (pawtograph) copy of our book. The site is filled with unpublished photos and interesting information, so do visit it.

Respectfully submitted,

Mason

Here I am on one such rainy day, trying to stay in the game and keep up my spirits.

Here I am on one such rainy day, trying to stay in the game and keep up my spirits.

Chasing a crumb

Chasing a crumb

And, as you can see, I'm falling asleep

And, as you can see, I'm falling asleep

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Don’t Rain On My Parade

  1. Lexie, Chloe and Coco

    Oh poor Mason…now you know how we pugs in the Pacific Northwest feel for much of the year! Yes, gloom and rain are a part of our lives, and we cherish those warm summer and early fall days even more when we get them!
    Hang in there…your sunny days are coming, we’re sure of it!
    ~Lexie, Chloe and Coco

  2. Roxy, Blue and Bono

    Yes, hang in there Mason…

    Sending lots of sunny thoughts your way…

    Your Pug Fans,
    Roxy, Blue and Bono

Leave a Reply

