Pooped Pugs, or Fan Me With A Palm Frond, Please

I must confess, dear reader, to an ever-increasing lethargy and fatigue that seems to consume me each day. I can only assume that it is due to the oppressive humidity blanketing Cape Cod, and probably all of the east coast, this week. Mom and Grandma are feeling it too, which gives me more wiggle room for being a sloth.

Saturday we headed out to the island on Grandpa’s boat, and while the temperature was warm, there was a steady on shore breeze, which made the day perfect. Lizzie and I love the journey because of the wind on our faces and the tantalizing smells in the air. After we reached the island, anchored the boat, and hauled all of our paraphernalia ashore, Grandma decided we needed a swim. And swim we did. I am more of a plunk, plunk, plunk kind of swimmer. I see no reason to paddle furiously when I know the waves will take me to shore eventually. Of course Grandma supported me around my waist. Lizzie, however, begins a frantic, toes splayed, head held aloft kind of swimming well before she even hits the water. It really makes me laugh to see her go. Everyone near her gets sprayed once she is actually in the water. As you must know by now, she is not the sharpest knife in the drawer.

Because of our frequent swims throughout the day we managed to stay quite cool and comfortable. On our return, we stopped at a choice little spit of land where clams love to burrow, and Mom and Grandpa dug for their dinner (ours too!). Those of you who have our book will know just where I am describing. There is a photo of Lizzard and me standing in the water there at low tide, looking for clams.

The finale to a spectacular day was an outdoor shower and shampoo with Mom. Our day could not have been better, but we were exhausted and slept like puppies that night. I am still not fully energized but will rally on Thursday since we have another book reading and signing at the Sturgis Library in Barnstable Village, 10:30 AM.

Respectfully submitted,

Mason

P.S. Let me know what you think of my blog’s new look. Grandpa designed it and I think it captures the essence of our summer…Thanks, Grandpa!

This is one I wanted to show last time and since no one took a camera on the boat, I decided to share this appealing shot.

This is one I wanted to show on my last blog and since no one took a camera on the boat, I decided to share it now.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Pooped Pugs, or Fan Me With A Palm Frond, Please

  1. Lilo

    Mason,

    I love reading your blog and love the picture of you and lizzie in the pool. I have one like that too, but I don’t like to swim.
    You should come to CT and do a reading here, I would love to meet you.

    Nice picture of you and your mommy. I love my mommy very much too.

    Pug Hugs & Kisses.
    Lilo

  2. Lexie, Chloe & Coco

    We love the new look, Mason. Tell your Grandpa he did a great job!

    🙂

Leave a Reply

