The Week in Review, or Through A Pug Darkly

I must clarify a few things misspoken by our Miss Lizzie in her latest blog posting, which is to what my tweaked biblical quotation refers. I’m afraid Lizzie’s view of the world and its events is somewhat inaccurate. She has been on some rampant ego trip lately that has me completely flummoxed. So, dear reader, while you may find her sweet, simple expression charming and disarming, she is a pug with a highly inflated sense of self worth.

She does not overpower me, but rather she is sneaky, underhanded, and very manipulative. There is a word for it but I risk the wrath of all of my female readers if I dare utter it.

I’d like to move on to a topic of greater interest to me, and that is my mom’s birthday yesterday. The weeks leading up to this event every year are torture for all of us, and by that I mean Dad, Grandma, Grandpa, Lizzie and me. She does this uniquely human thing that I find wholly self-indulgent. By attaching so much importance to the actual age achieved, rather than the success and happiness attendant upon it, she spirals down into this abyss of depression, tears, and angry outbursts. I have learned, and Lizzie is starting to learn, but her learning curve is so slow, that it is in our best collective interest to keep a low profile and only cuddle when she gives a positive signal. This year was no exception…the crying jags, the snappish temper flare-ups, and the withdrawal into a fetal position all began a good month before the actual date. Now I think most of you know how much we love our mom and how much she means to us so that the approach of this black cloud is just something we must endure. After the birthday, the very next day, the sun starts peeking through again. Mom, we love you so much. You are so beautiful in every way, but we’d like to see you move beyond this emotional train wreck.

I have to update you on the status of Grandma and Grandpa’s acquisition of a dog. This is a bitter pill for yours truly to swallow, but I am a pug who deals only with reality…no sugar coating for me. Her name is Daphne, as I mentioned, and they will be picking her up on December 5th.  This will be a sad day for me, but I’ve lived through other challenges and this is no different. I will face it with equanimity and grace. Lizzie, of course, is doing her “happy girl” dance because she feels there will be a natural connection between her and this baby French bulldog. Lizzie is a fool and always will be. It is a somewhat frightening thought though, but I can’t imagine any dog so stupid as to align herself with Lizzie.

And there you have it, folks: my news from the city that never sleeps. I, however, am ready for a much-deserved nap.

Respectfully submitted,

Mason

IMG_0914

Here she is, in my mom's arms. I call her Bat Girl. I know Mom was an emotional puddle the day they went to meet her.

IMG_0240

This is what a dog should look like. Lizzie and I were trying to be brave in the face of adversity.

 

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “The Week in Review, or Through A Pug Darkly

  1. Roxy, Blue and Bono

    Bat wings…love it! Too cute! All of you! How exciting, a new baby!

    Your pug fans,
    Roxy, Blue and Bono

  2. Eeekkk…How cute! Sorry Mason…but you are about to be outnumbered by the GIRLS!

  3. Marci

    Hey, at least she is pug colored…sort of!!!

  4. Lexie, Chloe & Coco's mommy

    I don’t know, Mason….I can see the three of you being buddies, hanging out together on the boat! You may just surprise yourself.
    And as for your mom’s dislike of birthdays, speaking as a pug mom…I can relate. But rest assured, that after your mom hits that “40” mark, acceptance sets in and it gets easier. Trust me…
    🙂

  5. Dear Mason & Lizze:
    We are experiencing the same thing at our house as Mommy & Daddy have adopted another pug, they call him Mugzee. They say he had no where to live and was hurt real bad somehow. He seems to be so very happy here but like you said it’s a bitter pill to swallow after 8 yrs here with just us.
    Hang in there, I’m sure G & G have lots of love for everyone just like our Mommy & Daddy.
    Pughugs,
    Wrinkles & Sputters

Leave a Reply

