Town and Country Pugs

Alas, dear reader, my absence has not been intentional but rather circumstantial. I hope to resume my usual philosophical banter, canine rants, and insightful observations now that we are back in NYC. My CT grandparents have many photos of our visit, which I plan to share with you.

It is interesting how vacations work…oftentimes we are not even aware that one is needed until we reach our destination. I don’t feel as if I live a particularly stressful life (and I can certainly state that Lizzie has never had a moment’s stress in her pathetic existence), but once we arrived in the land of Harriet Beecher Stowe (famous for UNCLE TOM’S CABIN) I felt a freedom and ease unlike my usual state of Red Alert in Manhattan. My grandparents have about three acres of beautiful land…land made for the wanderings and explorations of two city pugs. Our grandparents were engaged in the timeless pursuit of growing one’s own food and so their days were filled with the turning of soil, sowing of seeds, and watering of their efforts. Lizzie and I were only too eager to assist and support these endeavors.

Our days were long, our labors intense, but the rewards were generous. Because our visits here are shorter and less frequent than at our Cape Cod grandparents’ house, we were treated more deferentially, making it easier for us to behave in a less than praiseworthy manner, I must confess. Nonetheless, I think Art and Mary enjoyed us, even if they found us a bit challenging at times. Struggling with my nighttime diaper was somewhat difficult for them and learning to differentiate between my actual needs and begging wants always confused them. They were good sports and catered to us in a loving manner.

We were exhausted after our stay and spent the first two days in NYC, in a virtual coma. I did, however, come alive by the third day and felt my old primal urges kick in, causing me to convince Lizzy that Dad’s careless neglect of the garbage can deserved a good toss. She, in true form even after a lengthy absence from this wonderful sport, did a magnificent job, thus providing me a veritable smorgasbord of delicacies from which to sample. I, in turn, did my own toss…not just once, but throughout the apartment.

Welcome home, Mom and Dad, welcome home!

Respectfully submitted,

Mason

A purposeful stride around the garden by yours truly

an inspection of the garden's perimeters

Joining our "boss" on the job. My day began at 4:30 AM with a hearty breakfast and a rest before work.

Slacker Lizzie "on the job"

Taking time to smell the flowers

Taking time to smell the flowers....

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Town and Country Pugs

  1. Misty

    Handsome as usual Mason!

  2. Ah Mason, my friend, glad to hear you are ‘recovering’ from your vacation. Sounds like quite a pleasant and relaxing time. Wouldn’t be willing to get up at 4 am but I do like to sniff flowers.

    Can’t say as I would really want to have to do much in the way of tending a garden or harvesting my own food, but it certainly looked from your pics like your grandfolks took very good care of you and Lizzie. I am guessing they didn’t make you eat all veggies, all the time and that you might have begged a few treats, them being good sports and all.

    Take care and rest up.

    ~Wilbur

  3. Lex, Chloe & Coco's mommy

    Oh Mason, you have such a way with words! It’s so good to have you guys back after a long break. Glad you had fun in the country, and it looks like you were so helpful working on the farm!

    I imagine your parents were SO happy to see you again, despite your “tossing” incidents! LOL!

  4. KatB

    Mason, thanks so much for sharing all the updates on the two poor little pugs. I am so happy they are turning the corner, for the better. I am prayin for um so hard. Also thanks for the pictures, which are always wonderful to see alittle insight of you and Lizzie’s life. I enjoy you writing. Thank you. I makes my day. God Bless.

  5. Madison

    Dear Mason,

    So very glad to have you (and Lizzie) back again! I missed you.

    Fondly,
    Madison

Leave a Reply

